Controlling Love, Not A Controlling Love

Controlling Love, Not A Controlling Love

I love how God reveals Himself. In simple, mysterious, complex, amazing ways, He makes Himself known to those who are searching for Him. And every time He opens my eyes to Him, I have this great since of comfort that I don’t know if I could describe it.
Today, I had an interaction with a guy via email and it was dealing with the overall subject of relationships. My reaction to his response was maybe a poor one, I was angry, I took it out on some weights while I talked with God. Ok, at God. God patiently waited until I was done with my tantrum and then revealed what I needed.

Like I said, the topic was relationships and this guy is trying to use control to keep a certain relationship with a third person. After my tantrum, I started writing a response based on some words going through my head.

What I wrote was that this third person has a choice to restore any level of relationship with this guy or choose not to have any relationship at all, but that either way, the third person has to work through forgiveness before doing either and that was between him and God. And then I wrote,

“A relationship does not work when it is based on control. It doesn’t work with spouses, it doesn’t work with kids, it doesn’t work in the work place and it is why our God doesn’t use control to have the relationship with us that He desires.”

Then… BAM! WHA-MO! SMACK! ZIP! POW! etc etc… (I think you get the point.)

I remembered I had posted a comment earlier in the day asking the rhetorical question; “After reading Isaiah 53, how could you not love God.” I remembered how I felt after reading it and the love I was feeling for God.

Then this question went screaming through my head… And when I say screaming… I mean like a still calm voice…

What about your “relationship” with this guy?

After all, our relationship may be with a family member, a friend, a co-worker, a customer/client or it maybe someone we pass in the street. Each has it’s own dynamics, and each should be approached the way God has shown us… through LOVE!

As Paul wrote to the Galatians, “You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Galatians 5:13-14)

You can’t control other people to have a relationship with you, but you can control how you love them. Follow God’s example, he loved us before he knew us.

About robcrenshaw

Someone who is doing his best to follow Jesus, be the best husband to his wife, best father to his children and then go from there...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

