Special Moments

My typical morning starts out before anyone else in the house wakes up. After a snooze button push or two, I head out to the living room to spend time with the Lord in prayer and His word. Usually, and especially when I hit the snooze button more times, our almost 3 year old daughter comes out to join me part way through my bible reading. (I never thought I would have an early riser, but she is definitely one.) She will come over and after asking for her gummy vitamins, she climbs up in my lap and asks what I am reading and to read it to her. I will tell her what book and chapter we are reading and then read to her as she sits there, sometimes, paying attention.

A morning this past week was different because she slept in longer than normal. I was done with my bible reading and on to another book by the time she came out. She asked for her vitamins and then came over to sit on my lap. When I picked up my book, she said that I hadn’t read my bible and then asked me to read it to her like normal. Since I was already done with my daily reading, I asked her what she wanted me to read. She said, “Psalms.” So I decided to see how far I could go with it and asked which chapter. “Five Thirty-two,” was the answer. Since there isn’t a Psalms 5:32, I read Psalms 5 and Psalms 32 to her.

Now, she is almost three and may not fully understand what or why we read the bible. All she really was wanting to do is to spend that special time with her daddy. She knows that this time is important to me and wants to be a part of it. It is our special moment that we both get to start out the day with and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Living by example is the best way to show our kids how to live. They will see what is important to us by what we choose to spend our time doing. And when we invite them to spend it with us, they get that connection with us that continues to grow each time.

So our daughter may not understand what we are reading or why, but after reading the Psalms she then asked to read Proverbs and John. She is so smart!!!

Spend time with your kids. Read to them. Include them in the activities that you want them to do on their own as they grow up.

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it. – Proverbs 22:6

About robcrenshaw

Someone who is doing his best to live purely for Jesus, be the best husband to his wife, best father to his children and then go from there...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

